

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Akeeagok Assigns New Cabinet Portfolios

Iqaluit, Nunavut (November 14, 2024) – Premier P.J. Akeeagok announced changes to Nunavut's Executive Council after Daniel Qavvik resigned from Cabinet on November 13, 2024, due to personal reasons.

Premier Akeeagok assigned the following new Cabinet portfolios effective November 13, 2024:

In addition to his duties as Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister of Indigenous Affairs, P.J. Akeeagok will assume the additional responsibilities of Minister of Culture and Heritage and Minister responsible for Language.

Minister David Joanasie remains Government House Leader and Minister of Community and Government Services and will take on the additional portfolio of Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for Energy.

A full list of Cabinet portfolios is appended to this release.

###

Media Contact:

Sima Sahar Zerehi Office of Premier P.J. Akeeagok 867-222-5344 szerehi6@gov.nu.ca

Nunavut Cabinet Portfolios

Hon. P.J. Akeeagok, Premier

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs Minister of Culture and Heritage Minister of Indigenous Affairs Minister responsible for Immigration Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council Minister responsible for Seniors Minister responsible for Languages

Hon. Pamela Gross, Deputy Premier

Minister of Education Minister of Human Resources Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Hon. Lorne Kusugak

Minister of Finance Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation Minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Commission Minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Board

Hon. David Akeeagok

Minister of Justice Minister responsible for Labour Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal Minister of Economic Development and Transportation Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation Minister responsible for Trade Minister responsible for Mines

Hon. David Joanasie, Government House Leader

Minister of Community and Government Services Minister of Environment Minister responsible for Energy

Hon. John Main

Minister of Health Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

Hon. Margaret Nakashuk

Minister of Family Services Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College Minister responsible for Homelessness Minister responsible for Status of Women Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction